DUNE – Part 1 – 2021

Dune, huh. I managed to catch the movie in theater today and man, I was impressed. And not in a B-Movie sense, either! The latest Star Wars movie basically turned imho into a great comedy at the end, so I can’t really call it more than “fine”. But Dune? Great from beginning to end. The only thing not great is now I have to sit and wait for years until the second part is out.

No wait, two things are bad about the new Dune: 1.) Wait time for part 2 and 2.) This movie wrote a lot of checks and I’m really hoping the 2nd part can cash those checks in

For a more granular review:

I’ve seen the David Lynch movie multiple times (I just love Patrick Stewart, OK??!) and also the TV-series. The David Lynch movie was a bit much, but it has an odd charm which grows on you. The TV-series I found to be unbearable boring, I felt like I dropped into a deep coma when it started, and only awoke when the ordeal was finally over.

The new movie on the other hand, is like the David Lynch version, but good: It doesn’t try to just put the entire book into a blender and try to force it into a single movie, come hell and high water, and it still has the same odd charm of the Lynch-movie. I miss Patrick Stewart, but the rest was so good I kind of forgot about him as long as the movie kept going.

My conclusion: In Germany, we have this saying that you need to try something three times, and only on the third try will it turn out good. After David Lynch’s good first attempt, and the TV-series unholy mess, this third try finally turned out well. Good job, Villeneuve! Nice to see you can do more than winning car races!

Go and see the movie now, if you haven’t already. Also, don’t drink a lot through the movie, or your bladder will hate you.

Also, this Blog was originally meant to only house my SF-stories, but since my full-time job makes consistent writing a bit slow an I still haven’t written enough material good enough to show the world, I’ve decided to occasionally add other stuff like this mini-review. Just so this poor Blog doesn’t have to remain completely unused forever.

Have fun reading!

Leave a comment